Strasse der Monumente

Monument to the Battle of the Nations

In October 1813 the allied armies of Russia, Prussia, Austria and Sweden won the decisive victory over Napoleon’s army on German soil in the Battle of the Nations (or the Battle of Leipzig) near Leipzig. More than 110,000 people lost their lives in this battle, which was the largest in the 19th century. In order to commemorate this event, the Monument to the Battle of the Nations was inaugurated as the biggest monument in Europe on the 18th of October 1913.

As a national memorial, the monument was intended to have a national educative effect and to convince the “patriotic“ elements of the German nation of the need for absolute and unconditional support of German imperialistic politics. Its message conveying the need for the submission of the individual to the superior objectives of the nation enabled all undemocratic political forces in the Germany of the 20th century to use the Monument to the Battle of Nations for propaganda purposes.

Today, hundreds of thousands of people visit this impressive Leipzig landmark to commemorate the historic events associated with it, to see a historic monument with gigantic ensembles of sculptures or to enjoy the unique view of the city from one of the observation platforms of the 91m high building. Moreover, concert events in the interior of the gigantic dome structure are an unforgettable experience for music lovers from all over the world. 

Monument to the Battle of the Nations Leipzig
Straße des 18. Oktober 100, 04103 Leipzig
Phone: +49 (0) 341/2 41 68 70
Fax: +49 (0) 341/2 41 68 71 37
mail@Voelkerschlachtdenkmal-Leipzig.de
http://www.stadtgeschichtliches-museum-leipzig.de

Opening hours
April to October 10am – 06pm every day
November to March 10am – 04pm every day
Closed on 24th and 31st December

Audio-guide system in German, English and French and for a special children’s tour 

Marine-Ehrenmal Laboe
Siegessäule
Kaiser-Wilhelm-Denkmal
Hermannsdenkmal
Völkerschlachtdenkmal
Kyffhäuser-Denkmal
Wartburg
Contact
Deutsch
Imprint

Strasse der Monumente

Das Völkerschlachtdenkmal zu Leipzig

Im Oktober 1813 errangen die verbündeten Heere Russlands, Preußens, Österreichs und Schwedens in der Völkerschlacht bei Leipzig den entscheidenden Sieg über Napoleons Streit macht auf deutschem Boden. Mehr als 110 000 Menschen verloren in dieser größten Massenschlacht des 19. Jahrhunderts ihr Leben. Zur Erinnerung an dieses Ereignis wurde am 18. Oktober 1913 das Völkerschlachtdenkmal als größter Denkmalsbau Europas eingeweiht.

Als Nationaldenkmal sollte das Monument volkserzieherisch wirken und den „vaterländisch“ gesinnten Teil der deutschen Nation auf die vorbehaltlose Unterstützung deutscher Weltmachtpolitik einschwören. Seine Botschaft von der Unterordnung des Einzelnen unter die übergeordneten Ziele der Nation ermöglichte es allen undemokratischen politischen Kräften im Deutschland des 20. Jahrhunderts, sich des Völkerschlachtdenkmals propagandistisch zu bedienen.

Heute besuchen jährliche Hunderttausende das eindrucksvolle Wahrzeichen Leipzigs, um sich der historischen Ereignisse zu erinnern, ein Baudenkmal mit gigantischen Skulpturenensembles in Augenschein zu nehmen oder von einer der Aussichtsplattformen des 91 m hohen Bauwerks den unvergleichlichen Ausblick auf die Stadt zu genießen. Konzertveranstaltungen im Inneren des gigantischen Kuppelbaus werden für Musikfreunde aus aller Welt zum unvergesslichen Erlebnis.

Völkerschlachtdenkmal
Straße des 18. Oktober 100
04103 Leipzig
Telefon +49 (0) 341. 2 41 68 70
Telefax +49 (0) 341. 2 41 68 71 37
mail@voelkerschlachtdenkmal-leipzig.de
www.stadtgeschichtliches-museum-leipzig.de

Öffnungszeiten
April bis Oktober
täglich 10 – 18 Uhr
November bis März
täglich 10 – 16 Uhr
24. und 31. Dezember geschlossen

Audioguide in Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch und Französisch sowie als spezielle Kinderführung

Marine-Ehrenmal Laboe
Siegessäule
Kaiser-Wilhelm-Denkmal
Hermannsdenkmal
Völkerschlachtdenkmal
Kyffhäuser-Denkmal
Wartburg
Kontakt
English
Impressum